Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i am looking to buy a golf GTE. It has good power and good price.
I dont have a home charger ATM, but will be getting one after 1-2 month. I have a public charger that i mainly empty so i can charge there sometime. I will be driving 30-40 km a week, small city driving.
So my qeustion is, if my battery goes to 0%, will it damage the battery? Is it possible to live with a gte without a homecharger? Can the engine charge the battery?
I am a noob in the hybrid stuff, so i dont know much. :LOL:

·
Registered
1,395 Posts
No, the battery when at 0%, is actually closer to 20% real charge, which is reserved as a buffer for the hybrid system and to allow engine start.

Long term storage without driving at low charge might be bad, although we would be talking many months. If you drive the car, the battery will be charged by the engine. I would recommend driving it in GTE mode, as this will slowly charge the battery to about 10-12 miles range. Then, do not use this range, until you have access to a charger.

Note that the GTE does not get very good fuel economy if just used as a regular petrol car. You need to charge it to get the best performance.
Also note that below -10C (since you live in Norway, this might be common!) the GTE cannot use pure electric mode - it is hybrid only.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, the battery when at 0%, is actually closer to 20% real charge, which is reserved as a buffer for the hybrid system and to allow engine start.

Long term storage without driving at low charge might be bad, although we would be talking many months. If you drive the car, the battery will be charged by the engine. I would recommend driving it in GTE mode, as this will slowly charge the battery to about 10-12 miles range. Then, do not use this range, until you have access to a charger.