Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I heard that when the 12 volt battery is replaced, you also have to tell it to the ECU in the car so the car knows the battery has been changed.

Allegedly, it had something to do with how the car should charge the battery, and not doing this could cause the new battery to not get fully charged and eventually fail?

This sounds suspicious to me. Have anyone heard of this? What exactly is updated, and why?
Has anyone changing the battery without getting this done had any issues?

I know in CanZe you can get a Battery Change Advice "soon" or "now", which could be something related. But I have no knowledge what triggers that.

Cheers

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
40kW Leaf Tekna & 22kW Zoë Q210 dynamique intens
627 Posts
Hi all,
I heard that when the 12 volt battery is replaced, you also have to tell it to the ECU in the car so the car knows the battery has been changed.

Allegedly, it had something to do with how the car should charge the battery, and not doing this could cause the new battery to not get fully charged and eventually fail?

This sounds suspicious to me. Have anyone heard of this? What exactly is updated, and why?
Has anyone changing the battery without getting this done had any issues?

I know in CanZe you can get a Battery Change Advice "soon" or "now", which could be something related. But I have no knowledge what triggers that.

Cheers

I’ve only ever heard this about changing AGM batteries because the way they are charged changes as they age.

As far as I’m aware the Zoe has a standard lead acid battery, you should be fine to just swap it.

·
Registered
2017 Renault Zoe (ZE40) Q90
1,342 Posts
I swapped my battery with no issues last year ( June 2020 ) as it was 3 years old after i watched the video from Matt at go green autos
he sells lots of Zoes and other EVs,in his video there is no mention of the ECU.