Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Earlier this week I bought a delivery miles 69 plate Acenta registered 30 September 2019. I put it on charge for 3hours overnight expecting to add about 20kwh but only 10.6kwh were added. I tried a manual fast charge and saw it was just charging at 3.5kw. I have looked at the car but cannot find any stickers to indicate whether it is 3.6 or 6.6kw charger.

When I switched off the car the time remaining to charge showed at 4 hours then when I plugged the charging lead in it went to 7 hours, I.e. times for 3.6kw and 6.6kw

I wondered if it was a wall charger issue so drove to a fast charger (22kw) where the car charged at 3.3kw on LeafSpy.

I am new to the car so wasn’t familiar with all the screens accessible from the steering wheel controls but eventually found the charging time screen. When first accessing the charging time screen (lead disconnected) it was showing 6kw but then when I scrolled through the options I could only get back to 3 or 50kw.

I am thinking I have a 3.6kw not 6.6kw charger. This was a bit of a surprise as I thought a while back all 40s had switched to 6.6kw. I asked the salesman at the time if it was a 2019 MY car and he said yes so I didn’t enquire further about the charger. The March 2019 handbook under charging gives maximum rated current 18Aor 32A (where fitted).

On the other hand I had seen 2 screens implying 6kw charging.

Has anyone else experienced this?

I put a call in to the dealer to try and check which charger is fitted but being Sunday the information was not available so might know more tomorrow.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
It turns out mine probably is a 3.6kw charger. I must have been looking at the wrong brochure when I bought mine.
I am still intrigued to know why 6kw appeared on the screen.

·
Registered
356 Posts
I have the explanation, if you go to the user manual, page 2-31 Instruments and controls.