Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

Super noob here. I did search forum but couln't find the answer. So I just got an i3 REX 94ah 2016 UK model. I took it to BMW for service today and I asked if I can use a 7KW charger on a regular basis and they said "only for occasional use" but they couldn't tell me what that meant!

Can anyone point me to guidance/advice on this. I am now thinking it's hardly worth installing a 7KW charger at home if it's only to be used once in a blue moon. Advice appreciated

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
7,610 Posts
The actual fast charger (normally called “rapid” charger) which uses the bottom two chunky pins in the charge socket (if your car has it fitted!) is for occasional use. The 7kw charger (called a “fast” charger) is for daily use.

Reactions: sizzlechest

·
Registered
6,682 Posts
Hi All

Super noob here. I did search forum but couln't find the answer. So I just got an i3 REX 94ah 2016 UK model. I took it to BMW for service today and I asked if I can use a 7KW charger on a regular basis and they said "only for occasional use" but they couldn't tell me what that meant!

Can anyone point me to guidance/advice on this. I am now thinking it's hardly worth installing a 7KW charger at home if it's only to be used once in a blue moon. Advice appreciated

Thanks
Is there an alternative BMW dealer you can use, one that knows there stuff?

·
Registered
BMW i3 60ah bev, solar orange
44 Posts
Hi All

Thanks
I find that most of the dealers I visit are less knowledgeable about the products they sell than the intended purchasers.