Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone - I'm still new to the world of Ev's and wanted to ask a question regarding price per EV charging.

I live in an apartment and the building development has six Rolec 7Kw charging stations installed. They charge £5 per token which gives a 6 hour period to charge your EV. Is this a good price per charge? How does it compare to public chargers?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
Depends how big your battery is and what state of charge is when you start charging.

If you took the full 7kW for 6hours it would give you 42kWh, which at £5 would work out at £0.12/kWh. That's certainly not a bad price!

If however your car was nearly full and you only pulled in, say 7kWh then it would be very expensive at £0.72/kWh...

So just ensure you use it when you have a very low battery and can charge for most of the 6hours. It's certainly a good price if say you ran a 41kWh Zoe for most of the week, drove around 120miles and then charged it over night for £5 to 100%.

·
Registered
MG EZS 2020
4,172 Posts
Thank you for the response - my question is directed toward the MG ZS EV.
@DrEskimo answer is also valid for the MG. The battery sizes are very similar. The price may be a little higher, some decimal points of a penny, as there will be losses in the transfer of electricity due to resistance and so forth. The advice would be to only charge on them when almost empty.

It will be certainly cheaper than charging at some destination chargers. Unless you can find a car park near to you where charging is included in the parking ticket and it costs less than the token.

Just a thought. Is the ticket only for the 6 hours or can you re-use it until the 6 hours is all used up?

·
Registered
MG ZS EV Exclusive
101 Posts