Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 232 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all. I wanted to post about an incident that occurred earlier this week which ended in a severe electrical fire, as I know most of us have some sort of car charging solution at home and want to raise awareness.

To give some background, we had a BMW i3 for around 8 months, and recently changed to a Tesla Model S about a month or so ago. Not long after we got the i3, I installed a 32a Ceeform socket, isolator and new MCB to our existing consumer unit, which was a 'relatively' modern Hager split RCD unit, i.e. all circuits except the lighting protected by a 30mA RCD.
We then bought an Ohme charger with Commando plug through Octopus, which was screwed to the wall inside the garage. All has been absolutely fine, with charging most nights since that time (although not so much through the lockdown period). I should mention now that I am not an electrician, although I trained in electrical engineering and have worked for many years using and repairing high current electrical devices, carried out previous electrical work at home, and felt completely comfortable adding an additional circuit to the consumer unit.

We were woken at about 4am on Monday morning by the sound of a sharp, loud tap tap tap noise. We first thought it was just birds or cats up on the tiled roof, but then we started to smell electrical burning. I immediately rushed down to the attached garage where the consumer unit is, to turn off the power.
I was greeted with the sight of the garage half full of smoke, the consumer unit on fire with flames licking up to the ceiling above, and the most intense noise of electrical arcing, buzzing and sparking. It was a really horrific sight and I could hardly even believe that what I was seeing was actually happening - very surreal.