Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking at the ohme cable.

As my existing Rolec is tethered, ohme's advice was to install a commando socket and go for the appropriate cable. They even linked to another thread on here for a DIY install.

I was after some advice and wanted to clarify a couple of points.

My current install is a Rolec wallpod
Live and neutral from the non RCD side of the consumer unit (the installer just grabbed the last spare 32a slot) & an earth rod in the drive way.

So I assume my best best it's to take a trail from the contactor side of the 40a rcbo in the charger rather that putting the socket up stream on the supply?

Is there likely space in the existing grommet in the Rolec to accommodate an additional tail lead?

Sent using Tapatalk (I'm on my phone so sorry for any auto correct screwups)

·
Registered
18 Posts
I am no expert, and should always recommend getting an electrician, but I think I would removed the Rolec and install a 32A RCBO in the consumer unit.

Honestly, get an electrician. It won't cost much to do this and it is then certified.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Trying to find anyone at the moment doing more than emergency call outs is tricky, even the maintenance guys at work have stopped taking homers sure to lockdown.

Also in pretty sure the original install of the Rolec was certified due to having been done under the olev/EST grant schemes and I'm pretty sure atleast done of the work doesn't meet regs. Fire insurance the cable buried in plastic conduit in a 2" trench.

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
5,922 Posts
Your Rolec probably isn't installed to the latest (January 2020) regs, but even so is safer than a Commando socket. What you are suggesting will lose the certification that your existing point has and make it harder when you come to sell your house in the future.