Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to EV so am looking for general advice and guidance please.

I'm due to change later in the year and I am giving serious consideration to a PHEV as me next car. As I say I've never had experience of such so have one or two questions.

Firstly, and for example, if I went for a BMW 330e could you charge off your home circuit overnight (13amp) and expect a full battery.

The electric range typically appears to realise between say 30 - 40 miles on a full charge. The journey to work involves mostly dual carriageway and the M5. Realistically what could you expect out of the electric motor in such circumstances with a distance to work at 22 miles both ways.

Finally although the mainstream manufacturers appear to allege MPG at circa 100 - 130 what could you expect. I'm trying to allow for fuel saving to determine if it's worth the cost of the PHEV.

Many thanks.

·
Registered
2016 Nissan LEAF SL
1,102 Posts
With a PHEV You could definitely get a full battery overnight on a 13 Amp charger due to the small battery. This would be easy. Make sure your wiring is up to scratch, and in the long term it's still worth considering getting a proper home charger installed.

Looking at the real world range that Pod Point have listed for the 330e it looks like 19 miles is what you can expect from a full charge in electric mode.

Is there a reason why you are thinking of a PHEV over an EV? A 22 Mile commute would be easy enough for any new EV today and would come with more benefits than a hybrid, as well as typically better reliability.