Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The YouTube algorithm just recommended this video to me

I'm no expert on cars but the rust here doesn't look as bad as the infamous rusty ICE ZS I saw on forums elsewhere last year where every panel was marked with rust spots.

What do current ZS owners think, is it excessive, would it concern you and if you look under your own car do you see similar?

Personally I'm not overly concerned but I don't think it's good that a car of that age shows any signs of rust I'm wondering if its worth doing anything to the underneath of the 5 when we get it or if it'd be better to leave it as if I have any issues the dealer may well point to whatever preventative treatment we'd had done and say that's the problem.

·
Zoe Devotee
9,259 Posts
Have a poke under any other brand 8 months old car and report back.

I recall looking under my Fiat when it was a couple of years old and being shocked at the level of surface rust.... but at 11 years old (with zero treatment) it looked exactly the same. I didn't look under my Zoe because most of what you could see was plastic or the battery pack. I treated my MG with some clear wax in its first week and it still looks pristine to me.

If you care about your car then treat it, if you don't then don't rush to look under it because some random has made a Youtube of their car.

·
Zoe Devotee
9,259 Posts
Always surprises me too that someone with their own post lift didn't prep under their new car? It took me literally 10mins rolling under my car on the drive.

FYI Dave is having his fusebox replaced under warranty, and the drivers door loom is a know soft recall. Cars later on have had this replaced before delivery.

Reactions: SkippyKitten

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #4