Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's a question for you.

If you have a hill to descend, what is better ( and if possible with an equation prove it) driving into the hill at 30 mph and descending at same speed (gradient for this experiment would be one steep enough to maintain 30 mph but not accelerate) getting the benefit of x kWh from the regeneration, OR using more power to arrive at top of the hill before descent at a higher speed so you descend faster and therefore create more kWh for same distance travelled?

Can you tell I'm a programmer by trade?! (Although don't do much programming these days being the boss!)

I'm betting it is better to descend faster, but the equation is mightily complex!

·
Registered
116 Posts
I don't have equations but you never get back in regeneration what you expended to get the speed up in the first place - my observation is very (very) roughly 1/2. Also speed always costs - you never get something for nothing.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I agree that's true on the flat, but I believe there is a tipping point when there's a gradient involved.

The equation will involve extra energy spent versus increase in g from a higher speed descent.

·
Registered
2,244 Posts
Fairly simple answer. Avoiding the need for equations...

Electric motors are not 100pc efficient, and so the more you accelerate the more energy you lose getting to the top because you're applying more force. If you go up gently you use (say) 110pc of the minimum energy required to reach the top. If you accelerate up the hill you use 110pc of a much bigger number.

Regeneration is way less than 100pc efficient, so you only recover a small percentage on the way back down regardless of how much that is or how fast you go.