Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This seems like to place to say Hi ..

Only recently found SpeakEV but been active on the US based TMC forum for about 4 years. I'm based in Warwickshire / Northants area and have put 30,000 EV miles under my butt since 2011 when I was fortunate enough to acquire my dream car - a Tesla Roadster.

The Background bit :- A long time ago in a galaxy far far away .. I did a degree in electronics which involved loads of 4/8/16 bit micro processor system building mixed in with various engineering arts. Over the years I've had great fun inventing all manor of weird gadgets, devices and systems, as well as coding a fair amount of software.

More recently I've been prototyping consumer gadgets enabled by the energy density of lithium cells. I'm also in the throws of making a house become almost entirely off-grid for energy harvesting and storage using both solar PV and solar thermal. Aim is to reduce my annual utility bills (£3k on electrickery + £3k on heating + £5k on petrol...) to almost zero, using un-conventional ideas outside of any bureaucratic intervention and therefore costing less than 1/4th the price with a payback period of around 2yrs.

Needless to say having an EV means I'm finally off petrol for good bar the use of an old diesel estate with intergalactic mileage for lugging big stuff about !

I've owned some exotic machinery in the past, and paid the price, but as a result have many friends who have also been die hard petrolheads. However, in the past year or two many have turned from the dark side into EV drivers and seem to be loving every minute of it. In total they've bought two Leafs, one Ampera, an Outlander PHEV and a chap with a Model S on order .. all of whom need to be on here too.

Its good to find a UK based EV community forum and I look forward to some useful interaction on here :)

·
Registered
1,882 Posts