Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a newbie waiting for my first EV to be delivered. I ordered an e-niro from Kia towards the end of September 2019 and I've just had an email from the dealer estimating an arrival of June/July this year. :confused:

I've seen so many reports of problems with chargers, smart meters and tariffs from energy suppliers, I thought I'd better get the ball rolling to decide what might be best for me, as it seems to take a few months to get this sorted. I want to be ready to order when I have the VIN number of my car.

I wonder if anyone has any positive stories to share to he me make a decision? I don't currently have a smart meter installed and I'm based in the Manchester area.

Thanks for your comments! ?鈥嶁檪

Registered
I have gone with octopus ? cheapest rates and meters were installed within 2 weeks although this doesn鈥檛 seem the norm. It鈥檚 not all working yet so definitely worth switching soon to iron out the kinks. My link is below if you do change. ? Pod-Point is my choice for a home charger and was around 3 weeks to install professional and no issues on the day. But you may want a Zappi or something that supports off peak charging if your car can鈥檛 be set itself to do it.

Registered
Many people here are with Octopus...and I am too, in one location. The "Go" tariff is probably the best deal there is for medium to high users at present. Agile is also interesting, but as per other threads on this forum there are many reports of problems with smart metering / billing at this stage...might be one for the enthusiastic early adopter for a few months yet!