• YES PLEASE

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a student from the University of Nottingham. My final year project is to improve the usability of charging points.
I want to have your opinions on whether you would like an addition of cash and credit/debit card payment options installed at charging points?

Thanks,
Alex

·
Banned
558 Posts
The question is more complex than you suggest.
Most charge points are currently free and we like it that way.
No one want to encourage 'blind charging' - so much per charge! There are many possible charging models, you question suggest it one charging model, with 2 technology choices - that is not how users want it.
I would only consider paying for a slow (or fast) charge, as a last resort.
Rapid charging is the only service that might be worth paying for; however, if the charge appears unreasonable they too cause a big reversal in EV acceptance and use.
In summary changing the technology will have minimal influence. Simplifying the service by removing RFID would improved availability and reliability - they are currently big issues for users. Paying for a service that is already 'rubbish' will only prove that the service providers are from another planet!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dear Brian,

My apologies. My intention is that IF there were to be charging fees, would you like additional payment modules (RFID will still be there) to be available? This is because from talking to many EV owners, there are problems with carrying more than one RFID card; one card per one provider. Could that change your mind?

Furthermore, I would like to address that my project do not focus on the commercial perspective but rather, issues like usability and ease of usage. And offering more than one payment option is what I thought would be sensible.

Again, sorry for not making myself clear earlier

Alex

·
Registered
5,112 Posts