Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
E-Niro 4
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is calibration really a ‘thing’ or another one of those EV battery myths that seem to become law? After watching Andy Till/Mr EV’s video earlier, do we really need to do this like in the days of NiCd batteries? Some people say as long as the cells are balanced when charged to 100% and you know what voltage your lowest cell is, the BMS will know what the pack can roughly output? The GOM will just work off what the BMS says surely but will depend on previous usage? BMS are pretty sophisticated these days and this just sounds like another one of those things that has appeared again. Happy to be told otherwise as I’m no battery expert but in simple terms once a buckets full it’s full. Running it lower and back up again won’t change the volume or it’s output right? And the BMS will take into account degradation in the pack surely as that will show up on cell voltages and capacity one assumes? I know there are many battery boffins and electrical engineers on here so what’s the truth, do we really need to calibrate or just let the BMS do it’s job?

let the discussion begin! :)

·
Registered
1,867 Posts
Calibration is probably less important than cell/module balancing.

If the BMS battery calibration is out (e.g. the car thinks that the capacity is different to the actual capacity) then you will still get the same amount of energy out of the battery as if was calibrated correctly but the GOM might give odd results.

If cells/modules are not balanced then you will genuinely get less energy from the pack because the BMS has to behave as if all cells have the same voltage as the one with the lowest voltage one when discharging and have the same voltage as the highest one when charging. This is to avoid taking any one cell above or below it's safe voltage range.

·
Registered
E-Niro 4
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·