Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I’m new to this form and to ev’s. I have a skoda Citigo and I’m having difficulty with charging. Originally I charged with the 3 pin plug which took around 14 hours, when I bought a pod point the home charger took 24 hours to charge and the 3 pin plug started to take around 18 hours.

Skoda have told me it is my fault because I have never charged the car to 100%, but I have given there was no choice for the first 5 months as I was using the 3 pin plug. I think there is a fault with the car and am looking for an independent engineer to assess whats wrong.

Does anyone have any ideas?

·
Registered
5,083 Posts
Why does using a 3-pin EVSE prevent you from charging to 100%? It's recommended (for most EVs I've heard of) to do this maybe monthly, to let the BMS balance the cells. I would agree that getting those last few % in can take a very long time, as the charging tends to slow right down at the very end.

You say there's somehting wrong now; what sort of range are you getting, and is it what Skoda quotes (or somewhere near) ? What's the useable capacity of the battery meant to be, and what capacity is the car telling you that you now have? More info needed, I think, to try & work out what's wrong, if anything.

·
Registered
Tesla Model 3 LR AWD, Renault ZOE R135 ZE50 GTLine (Sold: R90 ZE40 i Dynamic Nav)
909 Posts
The car is 8 months old with 2000 on the clock
Skoda have told me it is my fault because I have never charged the car to 100%, but I have given there was no choice for the first 5 months as I was using the 3 pin plug.
New car, so any faults are down to the dealer to fix, if there are any. You sound to have been charging sensibly.