Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So we are all use to answering the litany of questions at the services when charging your car however today I went to see two Lancaster bombers and a Vulcan at Waddington airfield. Due to a huge crowd I parked in a temporary car park with a few hundred other cars about 1 mile down the road.

After the event we all walked back and as I was putting my camera away a small crowd came up to ask about the car. Usual stuff, how many miles, how long to charge etc etc

However one middle to elder gentleman seemed to get rather irate, when i said it costs around £5 to charge from flat on cheap rate electricity, he just blurted out "rubbish", then when I said it will go between 250 and 270 miles on a charge, again "impossible", he said there must be an engine hidden in there somewhere, even after I opened the bonnet and boot. Then the final line "I worked in the oil industry for 40 years and can tell you what your saying is not possible"

Does the oil industry brain wash everyone who works for them ?

I challenged him to listen for the engine as i pulled away but he was too busy trying to tell the others in the crowd why what I was doing was impossible as I sped away down the A15.

Oh well cant win them all :)

·
Registered
8,106 Posts