Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, 1st post, please go easy...
Been looking at the 330e and I have a few questions
How much est does it cost to fully charge overnight?
Does the battery charge up whilst driving?
What is the real world range for using just electric, does the petrol motor only kick in over certain speeds?
Is it possible to travel the 25m range using just electric
They state 140 odd mpg is this real world?

Ta

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Conbrue,

I'm new to this whole EV thing as well.

I pick my 330e up on Saturday so I can't answer definitively your questions, but I have been doing lots of research so I have a good idea.

1. A full charge costs in the region of 60p and takes between 2.5 and 3.5 hours depending on Charge Current supplied.

2. The battery will charge while driving but depends a lot on driving conditions. The charge comes via braking. Similar to KERS on an F1 car.

3. The real time Electric Range can vary greatly depending on driving style but reports are in the 15 to 22 mile range. The petrol engine kicks in above speeds of around 62mph.

4. I have seen reported figures in the 90’s for real world MPG but again is totally dependent on your driving style and the distance you travel.

The real savings for me will be the low Company Car BIK cost of just 7% this year plus the 100% Corporation Tax saving for my Limited Company.

Hope this helps

·
Registered
621 Posts
Your last question depends entirely on your journey profile.
If you start with a full charge, drive 15miles and then recharge then you can potentially use no petrol assuming you stay under 60mph.
If you do 30 miles then it's half EV mode and half petrol. Then you can work out the mpg.
If you start with an empty battery and drive however far then it will be absolutely no better than a conventional petrol car expect ~40mpg I would guess.