Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. So, i've been enjoying my 64 plate i3 for nearly 2 years now without a problem... until about a month ago when i had a strange 'Drivetrain Error' pop up on the display and i could not get it into drive. After my initial panic, i got it into drive and all was good for another week or so until it happened again. Cut to last week when we had a lot of rain over night, and i find that all of a sudden i now have the opposite problem, it won't go into park. This was a bit more alarming to me as my car is left on the drive which is at an angle, and without it being left in 'P', i am relying solely on the electro mechanical handbrake to keep it from rolling, and while it is 'N' i cannot lock the car AT ALL!

My conversation with the local BMW garage was brief, as they wanted me to get it to them and leave it with them until they had diagnosed the fault, at a cost of £99 plus the actual invoice for repairing it should i go ahead. She did say that BMW assist would come and pick it up, but she could not tell me how much this would cost, only 'roughly the same as the AA', very helpful.

The 'P' mode is just a lock for the gearbox, and when it works you can hear it engage/disengage when you select drive or 'P' for example. It sounds like a bit like the handbrake but quicker. With that in mind, i took the rear inspection cover off to have a look. The actuator in question is very easily located on the side of the motor/gearbox assembly. Mine is a BEV, so very easy to get to, i cannot say how this will differ for the REx models though as i have not seen one.

So having what i figured was the correct part in my sights, i took a rubber mallet and GENTLY(!!) gave the side of the unit a couple of taps. This was in the hopes that the part used to lock the gearbox/diff/output/whatever would free off so i can at least secure the car.