Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We've had our C zero for about 3 years and its been great , I love the simplicity and '2CV ness' of it . Its a perfect city run around for us , simple, been totally reliable, best car I've had , great fun . (we use a diesel for longer runs) Its 2012 35k ish miles, and just thinking how much longer we keep it , problem is what do we replace with if we can only spend £10k ish or less?.
We don't need a bigger car , but choice seems to be a 30kwh Leaf, battery owned , or one of the few later model Ion/C Zeros 2016-2018 . I'm a home mechanic, work as an Engineer, can do quite a bit of DIY , but don't fancy playing with changing batteries etc at home, also struggle with time, so in terms of long life and trouble free ( and cheap!) motoring, appreciate any advise you can offer as I don't know the Leafs as well.
Present C Zero probably worth £4-5k , its paid for itself over 3 years charging at work etc , an option is just to run it for 3 or 4 more years, maybe another 30-40k miles? range is still fine for us at 60-70+ (but 50 would be fine) , so far hardly noticed any degradation just a few miles maybe.
But aware of inverter issues and odd battery problem on older ones as age and mileage clock up.
Present C Zero car was almost immaculate underneath when we bought it , I spray painted and Tetrosyl treated it underneath, 3 years ago but i'm very aware how rust prone the earlier ones are, although ours is still fine ( almost immaculate) bodywork wise