Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm new to the world of electric cars having only recently bought a five-year VW E-Up, So forgive me if asking an obvious question.

I'm noticing the mileage I have seems to drain more quickly than the distance I am actually travelling. So for example I may do 5 miles but my range has gone from 50 to 40 miles in the same time. Is this normal as the battery gets older, or perhaps it's to do with something else? Any advice much appreciated.

Paul

·
Registered
773 Posts
Hi Paul, welcome. Welcome too to the quirky world of EVs. The range gauge in your car is commonly referred to as the GOM or, guess-o-meter. Accurate range is hard to predict, especially in winter. Your heating will use more energy in cold weather, reducing range. Also you’ll use more energy to begin with as the car heats up. Secondly, the battery stores less energy overall when it’s cold, so will offer lower range than in warmer times of year.

If you can pre-heat your car whilst it’s still plugged in before a journey, you’ll find the range is a little better too

Hope that helps a bit.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
28 Posts
I don't use the digital range meter as it is only a guess - it doesn't know that , for example, you've got 20 miles ahead all uphill. What I do is always set the trip to zero at the start, when the battery is at 100%, then compare the distance travelled with what's left on the analogue battery meter. So, as the battery meter drops to 7/8, and the distance travelled is 10 miles, then I'm on a good 80 miles. If it's only 9 miles then it's 72. And so on. The 4/8 mark or 50% will give you a pretty good idea of how much further you can go, bearing in mind what the road ahead is looking like. I also find that wind direction and speed will affect range.

·
Registered
1,014 Posts