Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to all this, forgive me if I'm asking daft questions!

I need to get to Norwich from Ware in Herts tomorrow, but I only have an Ecotricity card. Have applied for a Sourceeast one (in March, have been told they have a batch of faulty cards, will send new one ASAP. Starting to lose faith with them actually). So applied this week for a Polar/Chargemaster one but it's not arrived in time.

So. Any ideas on where to charge between Ware and Newmarket. A14/A11 corridor. Will be travelling with a small one, so it'll need to be fairly rapid. Anywhere which doesn't require a card and is PAYG? Can any of the Sourceeast / Polar points be used without a card, but you can pay my mobile or similar? Or are there Ecotricity points which are not listed on their site?

Thanks in advance!

SerendipitySue

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
there is a fast charger near cambridge (in cambourne) its a chargemaster one, so you can pay as you go with the app, but then you enter the great charging desert that is East Anglia

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
there is also a fast charger at Nissan in Bury St Edmunds, however its only office hours, that should get you to Norwich where there is another at a Nissan Dealer

·
Registered
145 Posts
The rapid charger at Colchester Nissan is available 24/7 and doesn't need a card. Although it's probably somewhat out of your way and may be too far from Norwich to be useful anyway.

And with that we have now mentioned every rapid charger in East Anglia except the one at the Green Britian Centre in Swaffham, which is currently offline!

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
The rapid charger at Colchester Nissan is available 24/7 and doesn't need a card. Although it's probably somewhat out of your way and may be too far from Norwich to be useful anyway.