Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was getting a free charge and coffee at my local Nissan dealer (wow; these peeps are friendly and helpful !), and asked whether they'd heard about the Nissan Japan battery replacement option and if it was coming to the UK. They hadn't. But, they did tell me that they could improve SoH and range by replacing 2-3 cells at a cost of £6-700. I'll check this with the service manager during the week (wasn't there on a Saturday); apparently they've done this before (and recently).

Has anyone come across this before ? I'm rather doubtful that replacing 2 or 3 cells will return a battery to better health - there are lots of cells, so surely it would be a very limited effect ? (or, is the whole battery performance limited by the weakest cells... if so, then losing the weakest might make a difference assuming that the others are a lot stronger). No, i'm not an electrical engineer :)

This is for a 2012 Leaf, 16k miles, 80% SoH (Leafspy), one bar lost off display, working range about 60 miles. It's in great condition and a better range/battery would be super.

Opinions ?

·
Registered
1,858 Posts
I was getting a free charge and coffee at my local Nissan dealer (wow; these peeps are friendly and helpful !), and asked whether they'd heard about the Nissan Japan battery replacement option and if it was coming to the UK. They hadn't. But, they did tell me that they could improve SoH and range by replacing 2-3 cells at a cost of £6-700. I'll check this with the service manager during the week (wasn't there on a Saturday); apparently they've done this before (and recently).