Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving a Leaf for the last two years and had Chargemaster fit me a 32amp tethered EVSE about a year ago. The lease on my Leaf is up soon and I'm pretty close to getting an i3. However, obviously having a tethered EVSE for a Leaf will mean it is redundant if I get the i3.

I've spoken to Chargemaster and they say there is nothing that can be done, it can't be swapped out, the connector cant be changed and I've got to keep it for the next two years even though there is a high chance it won't ever be used again. My only option appears to be to buy an additional EVSE.

Has any one had any experience or solutions to this. I'm kicking myself for not getting the untethered version as I already had a 32 amp cable but hindsight etc. etc. any ideas would be gratefully received.

Super Moderator
I can't see why you couldn't (get an electrician to) change the plug on the end of the lead, or change the lead itself. OLEV wouldn't have any way of detecting that, other than driving up to your house to look, and even if they did.... so what?

Reactions: derekb

Banned
I had the inverse problem in having previously paid for a 32A Type 1 myself, so claimed the Type 2 using an OLEV grant.

I doubt I'd be happy with a DIY swap-over - for a start the holster isn't going to hold the different gun. I'd just buy and install a cheap Rolec EVSE with a socket to go alongside the existing one.

Dear Nissan & Mitsubishi,

Why are you still selling cars in the UK with Type 1 now we have Type 2? Is this a deliberate lock-in move?

Yours,

EV Drivers in despair.

Registered
I had the inverse problem in having previously paid for a 32A Type 1 myself, so claimed the Type 2 using an OLEV grant.

I doubt I'd be happy with a DIY swap-over - for a start the holster isn't going to hold the different gun. I'd just buy and install a cheap Rolec EVSE with a socket to go alongside the existing one.