Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Leaf e+ 62Kwhr
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Chargemaster Homecharge 30 amp unit which has performed perfectly for 6+ years. The only mod I have made is to run the type 1 socket through an adaptor to the type 2 on my new Leaf e+. The unit has tripped onto a red signal. To reset it requires a key, which I have mislaid. I have the reference number of the key. Chargemaster tell me that if I had a more recent unit which has a 3 digit key reference on the lock they could supply a replacement, but for this unit the factory "no longer has keys in stock". They can supply a second had swap unit for the princely sum of £539. I'd really rather pay a tenner for a new key. I've asked them to work a little harder on the problem, but any wisdom from all the brains on Speak EV would be very welcome.

·
Registered
5,148 Posts
It may be possible to pick or brute force it. Some pictures of the 'obstruction' would help those of us with no knowledge of this particular unit.

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
5,952 Posts
Just remove the unit from the wall, unscrew the front and jump the connection across the two pins on the circuit board that the key switch connects to. You clearly don't use the key anyway.....
Alternatively, as all that they are suggesting is turning it off and on again the same effect can be had at the Consumer unit.

·
Registered
Leaf e+ 62Kwhr
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

·
Registered
Leaf e+ 62Kwhr
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Just remove the unit from the wall, unscrew the front and jump the connection across the two pins on the circuit board that the key switch connects to. You clearly don't use the key anyway.....
Alternatively, as all that they are suggesting is turning it off and on again the same effect can be had at the Consumer unit.