Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is actually a rant about chargers and I suppose also about the EV situation in general. I'll try to be brief!
You see a lot written about how do we get people involved in EV driving, what's stopping people etc which this post might help with. As it stands I would tell people to run away from owning one!
Why? I am new to EV so this reflects the views of an ordinary owner and not someone who is interested enough to love them despite the hurdles in the way of owning one. Despite this I decided to give one a go and tried a couple for various reasons.
Can't fault the cars or the dealership experience and special mention has to goto Inverness Vauxhall, who, despite the fact I live in Sough London were especially helpful. I liked what I drove enough to buy one brand new on the 10th May. I won't say what or where for the moment as that not the problem, no the issue is the charger - I still don't have one and I get the car this weekend.
I started filling in inquiry forms the same day (10th May) and completed over 20 for different companies then sat back to wait. No-one contacted me. British Gas called after 11 working days (website says they will contact in 10 WD). I couldn't take the call and they could not talk to my wife. Since then - silence.
I was contacted by The Pheonix Works on the 21st but was a long way from home, they took a few details and I called them a day or so latter, gave more details and again silence since.
Npower in fact deny all knowledge of EV and chargers despite a whole webpage devoted to it.