Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3,462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - complete newbie here! :rolleyes:

I'm having a Chargemaster unit installed tomorrow and picking up a new Ampera on Weds.

Because I'm not sure what vehicle I'll go for next, or what charging type it will be, I've gone for an untethered unit (on Chargemaster's advice) and asked Vauxhall to throw in a Type 2 to Type 1 (Mode 3) cable as part of the deal. The rationale being that I can use it at home AND if I need to charge up on an ecotricity unit. It does however mean that if I buy a different EV in the future (which is likely to have fast charging) I'll have to buy a new cable....but that's preferable to having to shell out for a new charging unit.

Thought I'd just check that my reasoning is sound, with experienced users.

Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
3,715 Posts
welcome @Brooktop :)

if I need to charge up on an ecotricity unit
Unfortunately, you cannot use your cable on the Ecotricity rapids... you can use it on their Type 2 Charging Stations but I believe they are only installed at two locations.

It does however mean that if I buy a different EV in the future (which is likely to have fast charging) I'll have to buy a new cable....but that's preferable to having to shell out for a new charging unit..
That's very sound reasoning and it's very likely your next car will have a Type 2 connector :)

·
Registered
3,462 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Kevin. Are there any charging stations Amperas CAN use? Or does the slow charge rate, high electricity prices and lack of infrastructure mean I should ignore 'electric highways' and just accept that I'm using petrol on any journey over 40 miles? I will head off to the GM thread to do some more research...

·
Banned
3,715 Posts