Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am new to the world of EV鈥檚 so am still on a steep learning curve 馃榾

in my area there are a number of these units on the polar network. They have two sockets. Does this mean that they can charge two vehicles at the same time or is it only one?

evezy referral code d6540
Hi,

I am new to the world of EV鈥檚 so am still on a steep learning curve 馃榾

in my area there are a number of these units on the polar network. They have two sockets. Does this mean that they can charge two vehicles at the same time or is it only one? View attachment 135979
Normally two at the same time unless they are faulty. Most will supply 7kW although a few may be only 3.6kW. Check Zap-Map for details and user feedback.

Registered
MG ZS EV Exclusive
Hi Jimmi and welcome.

Fast chargers like these can have 2 cars charging at the same time.

Rapid chargers tend to have 3 connectors:
DC Chademo, DC CCS and AC (usually 43kwh). The 2 DC connectors cannot both charge at the same time but the AC connector (Renaut Zoe) can charge at the same time as one of the DC connectors.

hope this helps

Registered
Discussion Starter #4
Normally two at the same time unless they are faulty. Most will supply 7kW although a few may be only 3.6kW. Check Zap-Map for details and user feedback.
Thank you for your prompt reply. I thought that might be the case

Registered
Discussion Starter #5
Hi Jimmi and welcome.

Fast chargers like these can have 2 cars charging at the same time.

Rapid chargers tend to have 3 connectors:
DC Chademo, DC CCS and AC (usually 43kwh). The 2 DC connectors cannot both charge at the same time but the AC connector (Renaut Zoe) can charge at the same time as one of the DC connectors.

hope this helps
Thank you for clarifying.
I tried to use a rapid charger yesterday that a black cab was using. He shouted at me because he was already charging. 馃ぃ. Quick lesson about those style of chargers.