Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
What are the common apps to use public charging points? Got podpoint and shell.
I have ...

Apps:

Ecotricity
ChargeYourCar
PodPoint
Polar Instant
Shell Recharge
ChargePoint

RFID Cards/Key Fobs

ChargeYourCar
ChargePoint
PodPoint
Polar/ChargeMaster
Shell
Alpha
GeniePoint

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have ...

Apps:

Ecotricity
ChargeYourCar
PodPoint
Polar Instant
Shell Recharge
ChargePoint

RFID Cards/Key Fobs

ChargeYourCar
ChargePoint
PodPoint
Polar/ChargeMaster
Shell
Alpha
GeniePoint

that's a lot, shame you can't just use a card, can you use tesla points

·
Registered
276 Posts
You cannot use Tesla charging points.

No problem with the cards and apps. I have been driving EVs for 5 years and never seen it as a problem. My wife has about 30 different store cards - never heard her complaining.

I use apps to pay at some food outlets as well.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You cannot use Tesla charging points.

No problem with the cards and apps. I have been driving EVs for 5 years and never seen it as a problem. My wife has about 30 different store cards - never heard her complaining.

I use apps to pay at some food outlets as well.
so it is advisable to install all the above apps on mine and wife's phone

·
Registered
276 Posts
so it is advisable to install all the above apps on mine and wife's phone
If you or your wife will be driving more than 150 miles a day on journeys that do not return you home, yes you will need to get the apps. It is also advisable to get the RFID cards where possible. The ChargeMyCar App is appalling to use.

The Apps are simple to download and register. For Polar/Chargemaster they also offer an RFID Card with a monthly membership of about £6.95. This will give you cheaper rate charging on the Rapid Chargers, and free charging on most 7kW chargers they put up in carparks and shopping areas.