Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m still a novice at charging and have found a free Pod-Point 7kw at my local Tesco. Was charging this morning, charge showed 6kw then it changed to 50kw and the chatging stopped. Anyone care to explain what’s happened.

Vehicle Speedometer Gauge Automotive design Motor vehicle
Tire Wheel Vehicle Automotive tire Automotive design

·
Registered
Leaf e+
249 Posts
That display will show whatever 'estimated time' when the car is not actively charging. Its based on settings in the menu like below:

To do this go to settings, as below:
G​
View attachment 141200

Go to EV Settings as below:

View attachment 141201

Go to Charge Time Screen as below:

View attachment 141202

Ensure that 50Kw(Quick Charge) is switched to “on” –

View attachment 141203

Then go to the Charge time Estimate screen, as below it should show “50KW”

View attachment 141204
Is it stopping unexpectedly? As it's Pod-Point - are you confirming the charge?
Most Pod-Point chargers - including the free ones require you to confirm you are charging using the app. If not it may terminate the charge after 15 minutes.

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
I think all the Tesco ones are free to use.

I have also discovered a free to use 22kw on at Sainsbury's, Filton, Bristol. So check your local Sainsburys as these may get rolled out.

I think it's brilliant - in a typical shop of 40 mins or so, you'd get a good 11 or 12 KW which is well worth having - whereas a 7KW only gives just about 4.

I love chargers at supermarkets, it's just a shame more aren't a little more "rapid" to allow a decent charge in a usual shop time.

It would also be good if places like Malls and so on did a decently quick charge at a reasonable price - too many try to charge over the top money.

·
Registered
GOLF GTE PHEV
3,823 Posts