Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I work as an electrician in sweden and have a problem with a clients car.
It´s an Zoe from 2017 and the problem is that the car is fully charged in the morning but the fuse has blown probably when the preheater is working.

I´m using an RCBO C16A. If i try to charge in a regular socket with regular fuses and an RCD, just the fuses blows and not the RCD.

BUT! If we start the heater manually and wait for the problem, nothing happens!

·
Registered
944 Posts
Pre-heat will draw a maximum of about 3kW. If you're in Sweden, then you may also have a battery heater and I'm not sure what draw that will have. It seems odd for it to trip (blow?) the fuse, do you mean breaker(?) when heating but not charging. Is the charger a 3 or 7kW? You say its on a 16A RCBO, so I'm assuming its 3kW. It may be that when the car pre-heats, it also tries to charge too and is drawing too much power from the charger? But, the charger should be telling the car what its maximum output is.

Try plugging in to charge, then pressing the pre-heat button on the keyfob to activate pre-heating when charging. Does it trip then? Is the RCBO faulty?

·
Co-author of CanZE. Q210 nov 2013
4,425 Posts
As per the standard, car can take (from memory) 5% more current than specified by the pilot signal in the chargepoint.

Are you 100% sure the chargepoint is set to 16A? And believe it or not, I have seen a single phase chargepoint where the sparky connected the L1, L2 and L3 wires to the single feed line :whistle: Makes sense to use a B characteristic breaker.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4