Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
I rent and therefore can’t get a charge in g pod installed but I do have a garage with a socket available although I’m not sure I can clear my garage enough for a car to get in! My question is for a 24kwh lLeaf what charging lead do I need to buy to plug it into the 3 plug socket in the garage and what do I need to buy to plug into the fast charge stations around town?
Newbie here so be kind! I’m trying to get my head around all the jargon!!

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Granny charger has 3 pin socket on one side abs Type 2 on other.
Around towns you will find Type 2 destination chargers. You need Type 2 to type 1 cable.
You will also find Rapid chargers that use ChaDeMo. Rapid chargers have their own cables.

- Leaf 30 kWh
Sent from mobile phone so please mind the typos

·
Registered
3,141 Posts
@Hermit Dave is correct but has put a typo - the "granny" lead goes from a 13 amps three pin socket to a Type 1 at the other end. Note that this only charges at around 10 amps and can run into problems with the socket overheating.
If you buy a LEAF it should come with one of these chargers - they were standard kit.
At "Fast" chargers (so called 7 kW units) "around town" you need your own Type 2 (that goes in the socket on the unit) to Type 1 (the front of your LEAF) lead. These were originally extras, but nearly every car carries one.
Both leads are available secondhand on eBay for around £80 each so it isn't a deal breaker if the car comes without them, but accuse the vendor of being tight!

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
@Hermit Dave is correct but has put a typo - the "granny" lead goes from a 13 amps three pin socket to a Type 1 at the other end. Note that this only charges at around 10 amps and can run into problems with the socket overheating.
If you buy a LEAF it should come with one of these chargers - they were standard kit.