Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI All,
I'm new to the scene, expecting delivery of our Outlander PHEV in March. So, naturally, we've been looking into charging locations, prices, networks etc and bugger me, it's confusing! There seems to be a few networks (I read the sticky post on networks) and various charge maps and apps. But, all the maps, including those that claim to be universal, all seem to have some points missing that exist on others.
So, I have 2 questions
1) Is there a reliable charge map website or App that actually has the best information ?
2) Is there a page that compares the networks regarding prices in particular.

I've noticed that the "Polar" network seems a real rip off with similar prices as other charge points but then with a £1.20 admin fee on top, which in my opinion, is a p*ss take.

Thanks in advance!
Tony

·
Global Cooler
215 Posts
Steer clear of Polar.
They're crooks who'll steal your money.
Get an Ecotricity free card, and buy a lifetime Podpoint card (£15 inc P&P)
That's all that have any economic point for a PHEV owner.
Anything else is more expensive than petrol.
Your point about maps is apposite.
Podpoint posts appear on Zapmaps which don't even appear on their own map.
No way to know, other than check in passing, who's right as far as I can see.

·
Registered
Kona SE
964 Posts
It depends where you are and where you will be travelling.
The maps mentioned above are useful but there is still an element of user input in the process. Some require user input to keep up to date.
Polar may seem expensive while there are still free chargers out there. Not sure how everything will compare when more users add to the competition.
For now check multiple sites before making long journeys if you are relying on Electric. (Not such a problem with the Outlander)