Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just swapped my old Nissan Leaf for a new 64kW Hyundai Kona and having run the battery down to around 30% decided to charge her back up. I have a ChanrgeMaster 3.3kW charger on the wall so plugged her in. 15 hours later I have just over 70% battery charge. Now that seems a very long time for very little charge! I would swear that the car isn't seeing the charger as a 3.3kW unit and is just running a trickle charge but :
1. I don't know if that is even possible
2. Does the car even have the ability to draw different power depending on availability
3. I appreciate that the batteries are considerable larger than the 1st Generation Nissan Leaf unit but should it really take THAT long
must more experienced minds than mind I am hoping will have words of wisdom to add here

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
15 hours at 3.3kw should have delivered 50kwh. So not enough to fully charge, but since you started at 30% it should have managed to fill it...

Is there perhaps a charge timer set on the car?

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
You'll lose around 10% electrical power thx to resistance losses etc, so max you'll see into the battery is ~3 kW. (FWIW Lowest current that charging can take place is 6A, so on a low-volatge 220 mains that's1.32 kW). So 15 hours at 3kW = 45 kWh in your Ev. That's 70.3% of your 64 kWh capacity. But you started with 30%, so have only seen 40 more go in, so the actual rate was more like 1.7 kW.

Have you got a timer set? Any preheating that could have swallowed a few kWh? Has the car got a variable "charge to X%" limit set, like ID.3 can have?

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
You'll lose around 10% electrical power thx to resistance losses etc, so max you'll see into the battery is ~3 kW.