Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
This is my first post in the i3 forum as I'm currently a Leaf driver. However, as I'm nearing the end of my lease, and have been talking cars around the office, I had a chat with a 118D leasee who's also looking to renew. I suggested that she should try to i3 rex (she has range anxiety), talking up the awesome advantages of elec over fossils whilst recognising range issues. She called her usual dealer who arranged a test drive after a week, as they only had the BEV i3 in stock and had to arrange for the rex. She came into the office today and has told me the following:
  • performance was awful. Press the accelerator and not a lot happened.
  • the 'sales' person knew nothing about the i3and kept referring to a 118d
  • she was persuaded to have another 118d as the 'superior' car WRT performance
  • Husband had his prejudice of milk float EVs confirmed.
My impression is that they must have let her to drive the i3 with either depleted battery/ super eco mode or the handbrake on to get performance significantly worse than a 118d. It also sounds like the salesman was only interested in selling something that suited him rather than her...
After she told us the above even the die-hard fossil burning Audi/BMW colleagues thought she'd been stitched up.
Opinions?
Thanks.

·
Registered
57 Posts
I had a test drive in an i3 rex. Very quick and I am used to a Volvo T5. The BEV version is even quicker. Just too expensive for me:cry:.

·
Registered
180 Posts
A thumbs up for BMW Partridges of Eastleigh, Hampshire. Andy there was very knowledgeable (his badge said I Genius) and they had a good range of I3s to look at to see the options in the flesh. Shame the place is full of ICEs!

·
9,719 Posts