Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to electric driving, I've had my Ampera for a week, estimated range when I collected it was 30 miles.

During the course of the week I've managed to increase the range to 36 miles, doing mainly short city stop start trips.

I started of using L as I thought the brake regen would slow the mileage decline.

However after reading a few threads including some great tips from Paul Churchley (sorry if that is spelt wrong) switched to D today and range increased from 34 to 36 for the first time when I went out this evening.

I found in D the joys of gliding for the first time.

Anyway the question I have is when people say they have had the Ampera for a week and achieved 50+ range, are you also new to the electric vehicle scene or using lots of know how to increase the range, or is it purely because people are achieving these ranges in 50 mile an hour stretches without many stop, starts.

I also realise that this is probably not the best time of year to be trying to achieve the desired range due to the temperature, in my case the temp has ranged from 9 degrees C to 17 degrees C (today) when I got up to 36 miles.

I also appreciate that it also depends on your temperature settings and probably lots of other random variables.

Any as always your thoughts and comments would be greatly appreciated. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

·
Premium Member
11,923 Posts
I tend to drive in two styles - performance or economy.

Performance - A short drive when I know I will only use electric - either by charging at destination or short trip there and back. In this style I use Sport mode and have some fun.