Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

Did buying an EV mean changing your car brand?

• No - My previous car was the same brand

Votes: 12 9.4%
  • Yes - But I have owned the same brand before

Votes: 31 24.4%
  • Yes - It's my first time owning a car from this brand

Votes: 84 66.1%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Administrator
11,835 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's poll time again!

I've heard a lot of times lately how most customers buying EVs come from another car brand/manufacturer. Really I'm just interested to see if that tallies with folk on here. It certainly does for me, the LEAF is my/our family's first Nissan.

The reason I used the jarring "B" word is that manufacturer can be a little vague, for example you may have gone Vauxhall to GM, MINI to BMW and those to me count as a change.

As ever always interested to hear your responses as much as see the votes. :D

·
Registered
697 Posts
Diesel Vauxhall Astra (SXi) to petrol Audi A3 ... to Vauxhall Ampera. I liked the "premium" feel of the cabin in the Audi compared with the Astra, but I think Vauxhall have done pretty well with the Ampera's cabin. I'm excited to see the A3 e-tron in August. But with the Benefit In Kind relief tapering off so quickly, my next vehicle is likely to be a diesel A3 :(

·
Administrator
11,835 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think generally interior (and exterior) quality of vehicles seems to be equalising across makes and models, I presume as better fabrics become more affordable over time. I've been in expensive cars that have felt a little cheap, and cheap cars that have been surprisingly well put together over the past few years.

·
Registered
697 Posts
Yep - I was inside some BMWs in the showroom last month, and thoroughly disliked most of the cabins. I was in a Mazda 3 yesterday, and loved it!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Not so much about brand as what technologies car manufactures are using dictated choice for me.
Although Audi's A3 e-tron could tempt me back to Audi.