Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, do you believe the EV charging infrastructure is currently very fragmented ? As an EV driver i find it inconvenient to use one or another application to search for the charging stations and then vendor specific application for the the payment and stuff.
What is your impressions ?

Best
Ahsan

·
Registered
13,029 Posts
You are not alone.

The networks in the UK are catching on and allowing payment by debit or credit card. But it’s not everywhere yet.

App access is a close second. But really shouldn’t be necessary, especially if you have to add top-up credit.

·
The best there is at what I do
10,602 Posts
The coverage of public chargers has improved no end over the last 5 years but I'm suprised that someone hasn't brought out an umbrella card that allows use of any charger from a single card, there is such a scheme called Chargemap Pass but it doesn't seem to be used in this country much, the logical approach to payment would be by using contactless and some operators like Instavolt and Chargemaster are rolling these out.

I think the MSAs need to provide much more reliable charging facilities, if a minimum of two chargers was located at each MSA offering all connector types that would be a major improvement but I don't see it happening anytime soon.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Yes. At the very least, you shouldn't need some pre-arranged contract or pre-payment to use any public charging infrastructure.
Secondly, they really should allow users with billing accounts from one organisation to access charge points run by another organisation. That doesn't stop the charging network from offering special deals for frequent users.