Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks

After testing a Nissan Leaf last year, I've utterly fallen under the spell of EV. I'm a classic car writer by profession, but blog about my exploits with 'moderns' at www.classichub.wordpress.com - drove a Tesla Model S last week. Fun but frighteningly expensive!

Anyway, I'm borrowing an e-NV200 Combi from Nissan next week and despite its alleged 100-mile range, I'm planning to head on a roadtrip from rural Wales to north Devon - 205 miles away.

The Combi comes with an Ecotricity card, but there's no way I can make it on Ecotricity alone. The nearest charger is 93 miles away. I suspect that when Welsh hills are involved, 100 miles is an absolute pipe dream. So, I wondered if folk had useful input on where else I can charge. There are some Nissan dealers on the way, but I think they only have 7kw chargers, so a lengthy charge time. It's also confusing trying to work out which chargers I'll actually be able to use on the Zapmap.

Therefore, any input will be very welcome indeed. I'd also appreciate any real-world input about using extension leads. I know it's not recommended, but at my parents' house, I may have no choice.

Thanks

Ian

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
You'll be lucky to get 80 miles maximum range but we are experiencing 60-70 miles dependant on your driving style and having the heating on as sadly it has no heat pump technology included. Do you know what model you are getting? If it's a Rapid Plus model then it will have the 32A 6.6kW on board charger so allowing 25 miles ranger per hour input from a 7kW 32A post.

·
Registered
640 Posts
On the basis you're Devils Bridge (?) looks like your best bet for charging is to head for the end of the M4 where the Ecotricity map shows rapids at J49 and J47 about 60 miles away.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·