Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
Peugeot e-2008
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! This is my first post here.

Next Monday we are due to drive from Brighton to Fishguard in West Wales. It’s the first time our Peugeot e-2008 has gone further than a 40 mile round trip since we got it in Jan.

According to ZapMap we should only need to recharge twice along along the 307 mile journey.

I’m not convinced!

Just to make things even more gnarly, it will be a heavily laden car - 2 adults, 2 kids, 2 dogs and 1 roofbox.

We have a home charger (so we aren’t very familiar with public charge points).
Any advice for total newbies would be really appreciated! What do we need, what should we bring? How often do you think we will recharge? How can we be certain charging stations are actually working? Is it ridiculous to think we should stop overnight en route?!!

All of the basic questions!

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

·
Registered
MG ZS EV
652 Posts
The M4 is probably the worst served motorway for rapid charging! But don’t panic. With such a car load someone will need a stop! The short route to avoid the M25 around Heathrow is via M3 and via Bracknell to pick up the M329 and on to the M4. There is an Osprey charger on the roundabout at the beginning of the M329 which might be worth a break to add some miles before you get to Wales where Newport is your friend. And then their are chargers at Carmarthen specifically a pair of Instavolts just the other side going west. Any stop at any of the MSAs is worth a try but not Leigh Delamere which is the worst served. Normally on a long journey you would aim to drive until your battery is down to 20% or below, but in this instance I would try to add some miles at every stop.

As I said Newport is your friend, lots of choice and you can get quickly round by the docks and several chargers and avoid the tunnels!