Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

I did a test drive in a DS3 Crossback e-tense and I loved it.

In the energy info it says:

Electric Energy Consumption : 3.5 Miles/KWh

This is what I do not really understand, I know in my Merc I can get a good 60mpg but what does this mean above? Is the higher the number better or lower?

I am a noob to the EV world so apologies if this is a really basic question. I did try and Google it but couldn't find any real info even on Zap-Map.

Here is a pic of energy info:

Thank you for the advice in advance, looking forward to being an EV driver soon :)

Ben.

·
Registered
995 Posts
More miles per kWh means better cost per mile. Providing you know how much you're paying per kWh it's pretty straightforward to calculate actual cost per mile.

·
Registered
1,883 Posts
as per mpg (miles per gallon) , a higher figure is better. 3.5 miles/kwh is about typical for an EV.

The e-tense battery has around 47kwh of usable energy.

thus 47*3.5 will give you about 164miles of range.

High speed motorway driving in winter you might get down to 3miles/kwh, and thus your range would drop to 47*3 = 141miles

·
Registered
108 Posts
The miles per kWh will vary depending on outside temperature and driving style, but I've just done a calculation and I think your Merc is doing about 3/4 of a mile per kWh.
If I've worked it out correctly the EV is about 4.6 times more efficient so roughly equivalent to 265 mpg.

Most of this is due to the ineffiency of ICE, only 25 to 30% of the fuel is used move the car, the rest is wasted in heat and friction.

But I'm sure someone will come along with more accurate figures soon

·
Registered
1,883 Posts
The miles per kWh will vary depending on outside temperature and driving style, but I've just done a calculation and I think your Merc is doing about 3/4 of a mile per kWh.