Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
hope you're all having a good day. I am looking for help and advice for a new project and would like to understand a little more about the viability and potential cost. I would like to build a fully electrically propelled 6x6 expedition truck. It would be fitted with substantial onboard generator to supplement the battery/drive motor on long uphill gradients as the vehicles total weight could be in the region of 20 tons.

I intend to use one centrally mounted motor driving though a 2 speed transfer box to the 3 axles. I have no experience with electric vehicles and would appreciate any help and advice regarding motor, controller, charging and battery selection. It would need to have regen capability to extend duration and more importantly provide good downhill retardation.

Any other suggestions and help would be most appreciated.

Many thanks Jonathan.

·
Registered
1,880 Posts
You have come to the wrong place. I very much doubt there is anyone on this forum capable or experienced in the design of bespoke electrically vehicles. I' LL restrain myself from commenting on what you are proposing other than to say it is all feasible.

·
Registered
845 Posts
Why are you trying to build a diy vehicle? Why won't existing vehicles meet your needs?
Diy vehicles are usually failure prone.
Keep it simple. Just adapt something already on the market.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
First of all, you'd better explain what an expedition truck is.
It's like an off road camper built on a truck chassis. Some are based on pickups or vans and others are based on large 4x4, 6x6 and 8x8 lorry/truck chassis. They are for long distance travel and long durations hopefully in remote locations. Just put expedition truck in youtube and you should get a pretty good idea. Cheers.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #9