Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there SpeakEV,

I'm currently a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Design and Innovation program. As part of my capstone project, I'm looking to assess the user experience of infotainment systems in EVs.

I would love to hear about your experiences with EV displays!

What are some aspects you love about your display?

What can't you stand?

Any information will be enormously helpful! Thank you in advance!

All the best,

Kia Pourmodheji

·
Registered
Kona PremSe64k 2020+bluelink +ohme
508 Posts
Satnav should take a leaf out of tesla and have the longest side vertical giving the best view of what's ahead. Most have longest side horizontal. that's my opinion.

Another goal is to make almost car functions available from the infotainment, even if that duplicates physical buttons. This way designers will more clearly understand the purpose of a physical button is to make that function quickly and easily available to the driver and passengers.

Phone projection (android auto/apple car play) should be complete across all apps. Anything else is an insult.

·
Registered
230 Posts
Touchscreens are terrible. Apart from programming navigation (which I do stationary) and looking at the map, I can do everything I need to in my old VW without taking my eyes off the road because I can feel physical buttons. For anything heavily touchscreen based, I need to take my eyes off the road. If it makes me take my eyes off the road for any more than the briefest of glances, it is flawed. Case and point: Tesla touchscreen wiper controls land driver with fine after crash

·
Registered
Renault ZOE R135 ZE50 GTLine July 2020 (Sold: R90 ZE40 i Dynamic Nav June 2017)
678 Posts
Why the distinction for EVs? Most of the issues I have are common to infotainment systems in ICE: