Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
883 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i have a new job that is far away and i was thinking of saving on hotel bills by sleeping in a van.

My plan would be to get an ENV200 because it has a heat pump for heating.
This way i could save on fuel and hotel bills!
probably save 2000 quid a year on fuel and 5000 on hotels.
I have a leaf atm so i am familiar with EV's.

questions i have are :
1. Can do you just leave the van on over night (locked) and with the heating on?
2. What kind of insulation? I was thinking bubble wrap, cos its cheap and could form an air thigh seal against moisture. but maybe foil sealed knuff space blanket?
3. How much are camp sites per day? i've never done it before.
4. I was planning to insulate walls and ceiling then put a mattress. then...
-TV, storage, bin, lighting, curtians... is here any thing i haven't throught of?
5. Do you think it would be cheaper to start with an lpg van instead?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,642 Posts
The vans don’t use a heat pump heater, they‘re still PTC heaters like the old Leafs were (as far as I know, my 24kWh one is)
1. Yes, there’s a “lock” switch on the dashboard to lock the doors when you’re inside, the van can be left in “ready to drive“ mode but you would want to pull the fuses or have a switch to switch off the daytime running lights. This isn’t a problem if you’re plugged in and charging as you can switch the van on when charging and the DRL don’t come on.
2. I would personally not insulate the van if you’re going to be using the heater. I’ve had no issues with condensation when camping for weeks on end in the winter as the constant flow of fresh warm air keeps the van toasty and dry. Insulation is difficult to get right in a van and it doesn’t take much to render it almost useless. Bubblewrap has no useable insulating properties.