Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am a learner driver, taking lessons in a Nissan Leaf. I love the lessons, and was wondering if anyone could share their opinions on whether an EV would be a good first time car for when (if!) I pass my driving test?
As it would be my first car it would probably make most sense to buy a used car. Has anyone any recommendations or advice they could offer me?

·
Registered
MG ZS EV Exclusive
341 Posts
Bear in mind that the Nissan Leaf is classed as an automatic. If you pass your test in an automatic, and then wish to drive a manual transmission car you will have to take another test.
For flexibility I would recommend to learn and take a test in manual transmission car then you can drive an automatic without taking another test.
Just because now you think you'll never drive a manual transmission vehicle doesn't mean to say in the future the situation will arise, e.g. hiring a car (by default these are mostly manual with a price premium for automatic.).

·
Registered
2,027 Posts
What Mike says.

However, I presume you are already aware of that.

Assuming you are from N.Ireland you might like to get some insurance quotes first before making a decision!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am already aware of that! For personal reasons, I have chosen to drive automatic, I am aware of the limitations that come with it! I I live in England so will also need to have a look at insurance quotes

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
I am surprised more People don't pass in autos just to master road skills etc without worrying about stalking, hill starts

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
You need to consider how far you wish to drive each day and if you need a rapid charger for long distance travel. Some have 3kW or 6kW chargers with option of rapid also. Can you chzrge at home?
Driving an automatic is going to become routine soon.

·
Registered
12 Posts