Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
40kW Leaf Tekna & 22kW Zoë Q210 dynamique intens
743 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I have now got 2 EV’s and have been a member of this forum since 2019 (I know I’m still a noob!)

Having looked at multiple manufacturers battery claims / warranties there seems to be a picture forming from the manufacturers.

They claim that the batteries are warrantied for a loss of capacity of (x)% generally for 8 years or (x) miles.

When this bites them and they are headed for a situation where they are going to have to replace everybody’s batteries under warranty they release a magical software update that basically says:

“Sorry guys EV’s and batteries were new we didn’t fully understand how to measure their longevity our first software was flawed, but here is some new software that allows us to wriggle out of the promises we made, it sucks to be you right now”

They get away with it because this can’t really be independently verified!

So... here’s the thing, I have an electrical enough background to be thinking that it’s not really rocket science for a clever enough person to add a DC current meter to a car that’s maybe 6 years old fully charge it then drive it to 0% and actually measure how many KWh of energy that battery has actually been capable of supplying and actually quantifying that there has been a real world x% loss of capacity from that battery, regardless of what the manufacturers software is claiming.

The energy an EV battery delivers from 100% SOC - 0% is measurable and it’s simple maths to determine what fraction that is of the new usable capacity, here lies the next dieselgate?

What are your thoughts?

There are a lot of engineers and electricians on here how doable is this?

·
Registered
2018 Nissan Leaf 40kWh Tekna - love it
1,520 Posts