Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

we are looking to move outside London and buying a second hand EV car but we are not sure if that will be suitable for us. I'm completely new to this world and I would like to ask some advice, please.

I will need to do between 70-80miles per day to go to work and come back home and I'm not sure how much is the mile range they can do with one charge. I was thinking about the Renault Zoe or the Nissan Leaf as they are the cheapest i found looking online (arout £6-7000). I have asked to a Renault dealer but he told me the old Renault won't probably be able to do those miles with one change. :( Is that true? What about the Nissan Leaf?

I have also been thinking about asking to install a charger at work and i was wondering if that could be a solution (as it will allow me to charge 2 times) or you think it won't be good for the car to be charged 2 times per day.

Also, concerning the battery, I know usually you have a leased battery, do you know the costs for that? Looking online I found out that for those miles it would be about 135£ per month, is that correct? Having a leased battery will means that if it won't work anymore they will change it with a new one? Also if they will develop a better battery that will allow to do more miles with a charge is possible to have a new battery on a "old" car?

Sorry for the many questions and thank you so much to anyone who will help!

Maria

·
Registered
1,858 Posts