Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

First-time poster...

Firstly, thank you for all the super information on this forum. It has been great to read, and I'm hoping the experts on here can provide a bit of help. I'm no expert, so apologies in advance if I miss off any crucial information!

I'm getting ready to install an EV charger (I'm looking at the Andersen A2) at home, in advance of getting an EV. There's an easy solution to mount it to the wall of my house (I've had quotes for standard works from a few installers) but my preferred option is to install it on my garage, which is detached.

My current setup is as follows... there is a 40A fuse on my main consumer unit for the garage, and I have an armoured 2.5mm2 cable taking power to the garage. The cable length is only about 3 or 4 metres - the garage is just the other side of a side passageway. The cable is mounted to the side of the house, then goes in a shallow trench under some gravel, and then into the garage. It feeds a small consumer unit in the garage (I know I need to replace that because there are no spare slots) which powers a couple of plug sockets and a single light.

So, my questions are:
  • From everything I have read, my existing 2.5mm2 cable that feeds the garage is not sufficient - am I right?
  • Would simply installing a thicker cable solve the problem?
  • If so, what thickness cable do I need to go for?
  • Would installing a thicker cable require me to bury it? (this isn't really an option because I would need to dig up a path!)
Many thanks in advance, guys!

Adam

·
Registered
6,684 Posts
Hi everyone,

First-time poster...

Firstly, thank you for all the super information on this forum. It has been great to read, and I'm hoping the experts on here can provide a bit of help. I'm no expert, so apologies in advance if I miss off any crucial information!