Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

EV Charger Purchase and Installation Feedback

1K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  AnotherJoe 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I am a student at the new Cornell Tech University in New York City and I am currently working on a project with Con Edison to make EV charging more affordable, accessible and competitive. I would love some feedback from you all regarding the topic.

Specifically:
- What are the challenges that you face when purchasing and installing a new EV charger?
- How tedious and how many visits does it take for an electrician to get the job done?
- Do you have any issues charging in cities as EV owners?

We are currently working on an AR project that would allow owners to use their smartphones to strategically place EV chargers in their homes while measuring distances from the main power supply to that point. These measurements and a video will then be sent to certified electricians closeby and they would be able to provide you with estimates without having to visit. Would this be something that would appeal to you as EV charger owners?

Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks!

See less See more
#3 ·
As Spiny said, 90% of the difficulty of getting a home charger is having somewhere to park that can have a private cable run to it from your electricity supply.

As for your specific idea, while really interesting, I do wonder about how useful it would really be. Getting a charge point is more or less a one-off process, and will mainly be decided upon what installers are available, which ones are subsidised buy your car manufacture, which designs and capacity of charge points you prefer etc. Then, in my case at least, the It's also not too much of a pain to take a few photos and make a few measurements if it's going to be years before anything needs to be changed again.