Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
'68 Renault Zoe ZE40 R110
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
Newbie here, desperate to go electric, but with cost as my stumbling block.
I have a lump sum of money to buy a second-hand EV, and I'm looking at a second-hand ZOE 40 R110, or something that will 'future-proof' me for as long as possible - I'm the type who owns a car until it's no longer financially viable.
I currently have a VW Fox, 58 plate. She costs me £50 for a full tank, and, like most teenagers, is causing me some grief with costs. It's getting to the point where my meagre income won't be enough if she develops major faults. (She herself will keep going until the end of time, I'm sure, it's just my finances that will make it impossible to keep going with an ageing ICE.)
However even my shaky finances can afford to run/maintain an EV - that's their major USP, after all. It's just the acquisition of one.

Now given that my income is shaky, and I'm not sure what the future may hold, I therefore know I should brace myself for needing to use my cash lump sum as temporary income, rather than spending 14k [max] on an EV.

Urgh, I know what I realistically should do is - if my VW dies/is too expensive for me to repair, I should spend only a couple of k to buy a modern ICE that's only a couple of years old, with excellent fuel economy. That would keep me going until I can justify an EV.
But equally there's the risk - if I end up 3 years down the line with none of my lump sum remaining - that I'll never be able to afford an EV at all.

So I kind of feel that I should just 'go for it', this being the only time I can even entertain getting an EV. But Covid, the global economy, my income... it'd be daft, right?

Gah, I know full well what my answer is. I just don't want it to be the answer. <sad face>

·
Registered
GOLF GTE PHEV
3,878 Posts