Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Design 2.4
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I could probably do with Richi help here.

I am very new to all this.

At home we have a Podpoint charger when we charge up we sometimes see EV ranges ranging between 35 to 44 miles on the guess meter dependant on the usage the day before. We thought at this time of year with everything switched off we would see around 28 EV miles on a good day, however we are achieving nearer 35 -36 EV miles consistently, these are actual miles, yesterday we we traveling 3/4 of the journey at 60mph along the M6 the 30mph zone in Birmingham still 35 -36 EV miles in fact we still had 2 miles in reserve when we arrived.

We have also noticed when on holiday and charging up yesterday at the daughters, if we use the 'Granny Charger' the guess meter units revert to km, I then have to reset the unit on the central screen, it never happens with the Podpoint.

·
richi.uk
237 Posts
28 miles would be on the low side for a MY2019/20 car with the bigger battery. 35 sounds decent. I can see 30 on my MY2014.5 with the original battery (yours is configured as ~20% bigger).

I've heard of the dash reverting to km, and I dimly remember something about a firmware update for it. Ask your dealer if you're due any recalls or service campaigns.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply Richi, I am slowly getting head around all this technology.

One this which really surprised us, towing our 1500kg caravan 180 miles each way, on the way down I set the speed limiter to 50 mph and let the battery run down we covered 12 miles towing and had 5 miles in reserve, I naively assumed when I hit the Charge Mode on the toll road the battery would charge up, however over the 180 miles it only gained a 3 - 4 extra miles, but always maintained a charge for the hills.